Review: Rudimental ‘We The Generation’


Rudimental return with a sophomore album that isn’t a departure from their signature sound, but more an evolution or coming of age. This go round, the drum and bass four-piece enlisted the help of their closest friends in what looks like a who’s who of England’s hottest talent. It almost feels like a class reunion.

We like how the featured artists don’t just pop in to lend their vocals, but the songs seem really suited to their style and voice. If we didn’t know any better, “Needn’t Speak” and “Breathe” could be found on Lianne La Havas’ own record. Collaborator, former tour mate, and friend Ed Sheeran makes two appearances. A rework of “Bloodstream” is on this album as well as a new track they’ve recently released called “Lay It All On Me.” The late great Bobby Womack also appears on We The Generation. Speaking to NME, Amir Amor said “Bobby’s wife told us that, before he died, he’d asked for us to finish it. It’s quite a responsibility. You don’t want to f*** something like that up.” And they don’t. Rudimental, the band and their sound, do represent a “new day,” both culturally and sonically. They’re very much part of EDM, a genre that’s found a place on mainstream radio yet still maligned and misunderstood by most. Rudimental’s music is approachable to pop, R&B, funk, and electronic fans. Naming the album We The Generation is pretty bold and confident, but Rudimental’s never been afraid to get in your face.

We The Generation is out this Friday, October 2nd via Major Toms/Big Beat. Rudimental embark on a North American tour this week. Check out those dates below.

09/29 – New York, NY – Webster Hall
09/30 – Brooklyn, NY – Warsaw
10/03 – Chicago, IL – Concord Music Hall
10/06 – Los Angeles, CA – The Fonda Theatre
10/07 – Los Angeles, CA – The Belasco
10/08 – San Francisco, CA – Mezzanine
10/09 – San Francisco, CA – The Regency Ballroom


  1. I Will Love You (feat. Will Heard)
  2. Never Let You Go (feat. Foy Vance)
  3. We The Generation (feat. Mahalia)
  4. Love Ain’t Just A Word (feat. Anne-Marie & Dizzee Rascal)
  5. Rumour Mill (feat. Anne-Marie & Will Heard)
  6. Common Emotion (feat. MNEK)
  7. Go Far (feat. Will Heard)
  8. Foreign World (feat. Anne-Marie)
  9. Too Cool (feat. Ella Eyre)
  10. Bloodstream
  11. Treading On Water (feat. Sinead Harnett & Will Heard)
  12. Needn’t Speak (feat. Lianne La Havas)
  13. Lay It All On Me (feat. Ed Sheeran)
  14. New Day (feat. Bobby Womack)
  15. All That Love (feat. Anne-Marie) [DELUXE]
  16. Run (feat. Will Heard) [DELUXE]
  17. Breathe (feat. Lianne La Havas) [DELUXE]
  18. System [feat. Max Romeo, Earl 16 & Spee) [DELUXE]