English folk songwriter Johnny Flynn has announced the long-awaited follow-up to his 2013 album Country Mile, titled Sillion, alongside the first single “Raising the Dead”.

Flynn’s been busy acting in Netflix’s Love Sick and films like Song One and Clouds of Sils Maria as well as the forthcoming National Geographic scripted series Genius directed by Ron Howard. He’s also a dad now and “Raising the Dead” explores Flynn’s growing relationship with his newborn daughter. As he explains in a press release…

“My Dad died when I was 18, and that was quite a galvanizing experience and there’s often an element of that in anything I’m writing; every big loss that you suffer in life, I think everything comes through the conduit of that. I had a really strong sense of my daughter having elements of my Dad when she came along, and it made me kind of laugh – that cyclical sense, of thinking of my daughter as my Dad.”

Listen to “Raising the Dead” below.

Sillion comes out March 24th via Transgressive Records, pre-order it here and check out the tracklist below.

1. Raising the Dead
2. Wandering Aengus
3. Heart Sunk Hank
4. Barleycorn
5. The Night my Piano Upped and Died
6. In the Deepest
7. In Your Pockets
8. Jefferson’s Torch
9. Tarp in the Prop
10. The Landlord
11. Hard Road

You can also catch Johnny Flynn live at the dates below.

Tour Dates
March 14 – March 18: SXSW – Austin, Texas
March 24: Brighton St George’s Church
March 25: Leeds Church
March 26: Manchester Gorilla
March 27: Edinburgh Caves
March 28: Birmingham O2 Academy 2
March 29: Bristol Trinity
March 31: London St John’s Hackney