Your favourite photo-sharing app just added a brilliant new Archive feature.
Instagram’s newest feature allows you to hide photos, instead of permanently deleting them from your profile, which will be moved to a private gallery that only you can see. You’ll be able to re-share the hidden photos if you wish, and they will be moved back to their original spot on your profile along with all the previous likes and comments.
The Facebook-owned company stated:
“Your profile is a representation of who you are and evolves with you over time. With Archive, you now have more flexibility to shape your profile while still preserving moments that matter.”
Time to Archive all those vacation photos of you and your ex.
View this post on Instagram
Today we’re introducing Archive, a new feature that lets you move posts you’ve previously shared into a space that’s visible only to you.
Your profile is a representation of who you are and evolves with you over time. With Archive, you now have more flexibility to shape your profile while still preserving moments that matter.
To archive a post you’ve already shared, tap “…” at the top of the post and choose “Archive.” You’ll still be able to see it when you tap the Archive icon in the top right corner of your profile. That way, you can always return to these posts and see previous likes and comments from friends. If you change your mind about a post you’ve archived, tap “Show on Profile” at any time and it’ll show up in its original spot.
With this update, you now have a space just for you, where you can revisit moments without having to keep them all on your profile.
To learn more about Archive, check out help.instagram.com.
These updates are available as part of Instagram version 10.21 and above for iOS in the Apple App Store and for Android in Google Play.
Video by @yelldesign