Cut Copy “Oceans Apart” Compilation


You know what our lives are missing? A “bumping 80-minute non-stop dance party” curated by non-other than Aussie electro-rockers Cut Copy. Well luckily for us, the band have recently unveiled a new compilation called Oceans Apart which features 19 new and exclusive tracks, selected strictly from the underground of their hometown of Melbourne Australia.

“We’ve always found deep inspiration in the music of our home city,” frontman Dan Whitford said in a statement. “It’s where Cut Copy started, as just one band in a potent community of unique and likeminded artists. But it also continues to inspire and surprise us, with great new music constantly bubbling to the surface. The motivation behind the compilation came from a late night conversation in a Melbourne club with a friend of mine. As we excitedly shouted over the noise of the dance floor, one of us said, ‘The dance scene in Melbourne has gotten so interesting over the past few years — someone should really document this!’ We looked at each other knowingly, and from that moment, the idea for Oceans Apart was born.”

It’s due out digitally on November 11, with two vinyl EPs on November 18 through their label Cutters Records.

You can check out the track listing below, alongside the first peek at the album from NO ZU. Groovy stuff.

Cut Copy Presents: Oceans Apart

1. Knightlife – “Don’t Stop”
2. Andras & Oscar- Music Is My Life”
3. Michael Ozone – “Oxygen”
4. Statue – “Statue Theme”
5. Turkish Prison – “Overboard”
6. Ara Koufax – “Brenda”
7. Myles Mac – “Suburban Odyssey”
8. Fantastic Man – “Robotic Temptation”
9. NO ZU – “Raw Vis Vision”
10. Coober Pedy University Band – “Kookaburra”
11. A+O – “Take Me”
12. Nile Delta – “Aether”
13. Tornado Wallace – “Circadia
14. Speed Painters – “Total Person”
15. Len Leise – “Call of Kati Thanda”
16. Bell Towers – “After Party at Jackson’s House”
17. World’s End Press – “Feel City (Outskirts Dub)”
18. Roland Tings – “Swimmer”
19. Sleep D – “Austral Aura”