ICYMI, The Strokes’ guitarist Nick Valensi announced he’s in a new band last month. Going by CRX, and the band have shared their first track, “Ways to Fake It.” The sound doesn’t stray too far from what we’ve heard in the early The Strokes back catalogue – meaning it’s smooth, cool, and gets the Sidewalk Hustle seal of approval. Produced by Josh Homme, “Ways to Fake It” is the opening track to CRX’s debut album New Skin, out October 28 on Columbia.

Listen to “Ways to Fake It” below and check out the New Skin tracklist below.

New Skin Tracklist
01 Ways to Fake It
02 Broken Bones
03 Give It Up
04 Anything
05 Walls
06 Slow Down
07 On Edge
08 Unnatural
09 One Track Mind
10 Monkey Machine